Indianapolis Radio Club Awards page

Indiana Radio Club Council


Technical Excellence AWARD


Presented to Mike Koss- W9SU

By Jack Parker- W8ISH

at the Indy Hamfest July 9th , 2005

For 30 plus years Mike Koss- W9SU; has contributed to Amateur and
Commercial radio communications in Indiana. Mike has been very
active as a speaker for club meetings on the subject of "Lightning Protection "
for Hams and commercial antenna installations in the Indiana area.
While owning his own business ( ICE ) comm.. LTD, which makes one of the best
lightning protection devices today plus other interference elimination devices.
He is with out challenge an expert in this very challenging and technical field.

Additionally; Mr. Koss has taken time to personally rejuvenate the
Indianapolis Radio League- W9IRL and the World class Contest facilities
located on the near north side of Indianapolis. He invites all clubs to
participate in yearly contesting operations from this outstanding facility.
He has also made this faculty available for handing emergency messages
during several major USA disasters for many years.

On The Educational side of the technical journal you can find
Mike working with Nasa on 20 meters to encourage Local Indianapolis youth
to explore space.
He annually does an amateur radio on the air link up with NASA JPL labs
and KIDS from Indianapolis. During this time he and other IRL members
usually have telescopes and radios connected for the visiting students
to explore the finer aspects of Radio astronomy..
( most recent was the Near fly by of Mars to earth)

Mr. Koss also makes him self accessible to help with those troubling
technical problems when others need help.

Mike Koss- W9SU/W9VW has truly been Indiana's most outstanding
Technical amateur for many years and especially for 2005.

Please accept Mr. Mike Koss _ W9SU/W9VW
As the Indianapolis Radio club's Nominee for the
IRCC 2005 Technical excellence award….

Congrats to Mike and all the 2005 IRCC technical excellence award nominees...


Prepared by :


Return to MAIN page\Return to Awards page